The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) will begin the process to add a new area code to the area currently served by the 530 area code, as the 530 area code is expected to be depleted of prefixes by September 2025.  The new area code will be introduced on top of the 530 area code using the overlay method. Overlay means that people with existing 530 area code phone numbers will keep those. Any new numbers would be given the new area code thus "overlaying" the existing numbers. Rather than having regions split geographically for assigning new area codes, old and new area codes will be intermixed throughout the service area. The new area code to overlay the 530 area codes is 837.

The North American Numbering Plan Administrator (NANPA) will be filing an application with the CPUC on behalf of the telecommunications industry to request the CPUC approve an overlay area code for the 530 area code region to provider additional numbering resources for the region.The 530 area code serves most of the northeastern portion of California, including all or portions of Alpine, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba counties. The 530 area code serves communities and cities including but not limited to Chico, Davis, El Dorado Hills, Oroville, Paradise, Placerville, Red Bluff, Redding, South Lake Tahoe, Truckee, Woodland, and Yuba City.